This warm comfy dish is the perfect answer to the chill that has crept into the air lately. A colorful veggie cornucopia makes this recipe super healthy. At the same time, it’s one of the most filling and comforting veggie dishes I’ve ever had. It also has the feel of a beef stew for those who like veggie stuff but miss the meat.

"Beefy" Veggie Stew

“Beefy” Veggie Stew

The best part– all these yummy veggies! Note: my sous chef, Gus, photo-bombing while performing his ritual quality inspection.

I mostly followed this recipe. I didn’t prepare ahead of time, however. So, after putting everything in the crock-pot late in the afternoon, I realized it was cooking too slowly to be ready for dinner.

"Beefy" Veggie Stew

“Beefy” Veggie Stew

So, I sped up the cooking process by transferring everything to a soup pot on the stove (not pictured). It cooked for about an hour/hour and a half before putting in the cornstarch and cooking for 10 more minutes. I had the stove set to low- so it was barely simmering. I used chicken stock, like the recipe suggests. However, I’m sure you could use veggie stock instead. I also included a package of seitan to give a beefy texture to the stew.

Instead of parsnips, I added a peeled and diced sweet potato and some halved brussels sprouts I had on hand. I also added 5 cloves of chopped garlic and a bay leaf. I added a lot of salt and pepper too. I think pepper gives the stew an earthy and spicy flavor. I think, if I were to do this again, I’d include some shitake mushrooms and more brussles sprouts. I think I’d also ad some red wine, soy sauce and worcestershire sauce to make the broth deeper in flavor. I think I’d also cut back on the potatoes a little bit. 2-3 would definitely be enough for me.

"Beefy" Veggie Stew

“Beefy” Veggie Stew

We paired it with a delicious IPA brew: YUM! It was so savory and filing. There is tons leftover- YAY! What a great recipe for fall. We’ll definitely do this one again!

