It’s cold, rainy and, if you’re like me, you have more faith in the spiked cider on the stove on game day than your fantasy football team. Yep, fall has arrived in the Midwest. Stacey was out raking leaves yesterday while I roasted up some veggies to pulverize into a warm flavorful soup. I mostly followed this recipe. I didn’t have bell peppers though, so I used these smaller ones (not sure what they’re called) of varying colors.

Roasted Pepper & Tomato Soup

Roasted Pepper & Tomato Soup

I used veggie stock instead of chicken and a white onion instead of red. I also liquified the soup up with a handheld blender after the hot soup tried to escape from the regular blender through the lid and my hand. I would recommend just using a handheld blender to begin with if you have one. $%^&$%^! Once there are no more lumps in the soup, taste it to see what spices need to be added. I put in quite a bit of salt, pepper, garlic powder and cayenne pepper.

Roasted Pepper & Tomato Soup

Roasted Pepper & Tomato Soup

Earlier in the afternoon, I put a loaf of whole wheat bread in the bread machine along with about 4 chopped up jalapenos from my grandmother’s garden. Here’s the recipe for my go-to whole wheat recipe (in this case I just added the jalapenos before starting the machine). Note: I exclude the dry milk.

Whole Wheat Bread

Whole Wheat Bread

Viola! This was a super yummy, colorful and healthy diversion from the cold dreary situation outdoors! Enjoy!

