So, we’ve been traveling to places near and far (Perhaps not coincidentally I just typed “fat” instead of “far” 🙂 )- from Florida, to Michigan, to Chicago and most recently to northern England. We enjoyed some amazing food in all of these places. While in England, we had the most amazing curry. After returning home, I tried to recreate it in a… ahem… healthier form.  Ok, so the skinny/IndianA version definitely wasn’t as good. It was still tasty though and helped remind us of being out exploring the world. I followed this recipe mostly. I didn’t have cardamom pods so I used 1/2 teaspoon of ground cardamom instead. Instead of using coconut milk, I used soy milk and a teaspoon of corn starch. It made the sauce a little thin, but the flavor was still spot on. I would cut the lime juice called for in the recipe in half and add a jalapeno. Also, make sure your spices are new/fresh.

Here’s what it looked like cooking:

Skinny Shrimp Curry

Skinny Shrimp Curry

Instead of the delicious basmati, I served it over brown rice- still yummy AND good for you, people! I finished it off with a wedge of lime. Oh, and be careful not to eat the cloves and allspice nuggets!

Skinny Shrimp Curry

Skinny Shrimp Curry

