A group of my favorite recreational runners participated in a half-marathon today. The group is made up of some truly amazing and phenomenal people– some of whom ran their first ever mini today! What a great accomplishment. Because I wasn’t able to join them, I sent them off with a batch of homemade energy bars. I mostly followed this recipe.

Image

I got a lot of the ingredients from the bulk section of our local co-op, Bloomingfoods.

Image

I didn’t include sunflower seeds but added more walnuts and chocolate chips. I made a double batch for the runners.

Image

After baking the bars and letting them cool for a half an hour or so, I put them onto a cutting board, cut them into bars and then put them into the fridge to stiffen up.

So far, reviews were good. Hopefully they helped propel the group through the course today. When I do this one again, I think I’ll add a teaspoon or so of salt. Otherwise, I think they were pretty yummy and full of natural energy boosters like sugar and carbs! 🙂

