Bailey's Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Cup Frosting

Bailey's Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Cup Frosting

For our good friend Beth’s birthday last week, Stacey and I made this cake thanks to a tip from the birthday cake fairy (Jen) who let us know what Beth’s ideal cake might look like. We took some liberties; including the philosophy I strictly abide by which states that all desserts should include booze. So, what started as a chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting, turned into a Bailey’s chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting topped, as you can see, with peanut butter cups. The reviews on this cake (now the second one I’ve made from scratch — See an earlier post called Kahlua Chocolate Cake for the first one) were pretty good. Somehow the cake seemed a little dry. I may have cooked the cake too long. I’m not sure. This is the recipe we followed for the cake and this is where we drew our inspiration for the peanut butter frosting. We added a little Bailey’s to what the the cake recipe called for. This probably goes without saying. 🙂 Happy Birthday to Beth. I’m sure I speak for others when I say that I hope we can help you celebrate your birthday again in years to come!